Apple Things

January 23, 2011

If there’s one thing i like more than apples, it’s apples baked with lots of butter and sugar. Or possibly apples in the form of mulled cider. Either way, I realized I have a few recipes involving apples that I don’t have written down anywhere, so here goes.

Mulled Cider

So this is going to be a quick one as I have absolutely no amounts to specify. As for ingredients:

1/2 gallon Apple Cider (I tend to use crappy ones as good ones are good enough without all the added flavor)
Whole cloves
Cardamom pods
Cinnamon Sticks
Whole Allspice
1/2 c Brown Sugar (to start)
1 or 2 apples cored and sliced into rounds
Rum or Apple Brandy or Wine (if you’re feeling frisky)

Essentially just dump everything into a big ol’ pot and bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for a while until the spice flavors have been incorporated into the cider. Then before serving, add the liquor of choice and enjoy.

Notes:
I apologize for the lack of amounts for the spices, but it’s really as matter of taste. I probably put in about 2 or 3 tablespoons worth of whole cardamom pods, maybe a tablespoon of cloves, a 4 inch stick of cinnamon, and a tablespoon of allspice. This is really all off the top of my head, so really I would just do it yourself and if it looks/smells like it’s enough, then it’s enough.

You can leave the apples in the cider when you serve, but I remove them.

An idea I came up with last time I made this was, when serving, put into a slow cooker or “crock pot” and put it on warm or low setting. This will keep it nice and hot until it is all gone (which will not take long, I assure you).

 

Apple Crumble

This recipe is one of my mom’s that reminds me of my childhood. This stuff served fresh and warm with a scoop of ice cream is as close to heaven on earth as one could possibly get with so little work.

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar (half brown, half regular)
2 cups flour
200 grams margarine or butter softened (one stick is 113 grams I believe)
6 medium apples

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Combine sugar, flour and butter with a hand mixer until you get crumbs a bit bigger than bread crumbs.

Peel and slice apples.

Use about 1/4 or 1/3 of the crumb mixture to cover the bottom of your baking dish (a 9×13 pyrex for a thinner crumble, an 8×8 for a nice thick crumble).  Put in apples in layers and cover with rest of the crumb mixture.

Bake for 30 – 40 min or until the top browns slightly and the filling starts to bubble though.

Remove from oven and, if possible, serve only a little while later while it’s still warm with vanilla ice cream.

Note: For storage, I recommend allowing the crumble to cool completely over night uncovered. This will allow all the steam to escape and not make your crumble go all soft when you cover it. Once cold, cover with plastic wrap or foil and put in the fridge. However, if you are prone to eating, just leave it out on the counter with a knife already in it (that’s what I do….)

 

Aren’t apples great?!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

