Coconut Rum French Toast

September 28, 2009

So one day, I was trying to figure out something fun to make myself for breakfast. I was thinking French Toast, but I didn’t have any milk. However, I did have coconut milk. I thought to myself, “it’s still milk, right?” and so, I decided to take a blind culinary leap and see what would come out. And this is the result:

(NOTE: I didn’t measure out ANYTHING in this recipe! It is all to taste. I include some estimated measurements. I will also include some notes at the end that may help though.)

Bread(works for any kind. Use challah if you got it. I usually use potato bread)
Eggs (1 for every 2 slices of regular store bought bread. You may need more if you are using thicker slices
Coconut milk
1 1/2 tbsp Coconut Cream
1 oz Dark Rum (Optional, but why not!)
1/2 tsp Cardamom
1 tsp Cinnamon
tbsp Brown Sugar

In wide, shallow bowl (Pasta bowl, for example), beat the egg(s). Add the rest of the ingredients to the egg and combine thoroughly.  The egg should end up a gold/brown color. Heat up your pan of choice (mine is a cast iron skillet) on med-high heat and butter the surface. Place a slice of the bread in the egg mixture, let soak a bit, and flip over to make sure both sides get a soak. Throw the soaked bread into the pan and cook on both sides. Repeat for the rest of the bread and enjoy.

NOTES:

1) When adding the coconut milk, use your best judgment. You don’t want to make the mixture too liquid-y or it won’t cook properly.

2) The coconut cream is to give the French toast a sweeter, more coconutty taste. If you plan on using syrup, it’s not necessary to add this.

3) When cooking, you have to use your best jugement, again. If it’s a thicker piece tha soaked for a long time, it will take longer to cook. Thinner piece and soaked less? Less time. Also if you notice that the toasts are getting too dark without cooking the inside, lower the heat.

4) All the spices are optional.  I LOVE cardamom, so i tend to add a lot of it. Do what you like.

Good luck and bon-appetit (In honor of the FRENCH toast. Get it?)

Leave a Reply

